Legal Updates

Damages in RI Wrongful Death Cases With Multiple Defendants

Car Accident

Wrongful Death Cases Require a $250,000 Minimum in Rhode Island How much can the surviving beneficiaries of a person who dies from wrongful acts expect to receive at trial?  Rhode Island law requires a $250,000 minimum recovery for successful wrongful death claimants.  The Wrongful Death statute at R.I. Gen. Laws Section 10-7-2, provides: “Whenever any…

Read More

RI Supreme Court: Testifying Experts’ Documents Not Discoverable by Opposing Parties

Legal Updates

Against long-standing practice, the Rhode Island Supreme Court has ruled that a testifying expert’s documents, including draft reports and other materials “considered” by the expert in formulating his or her opinion, are not discoverable. An expert’s notes, testing, draft reports, and other documents considered in formulating his or her opinion are now protected from review…

Read More